Matt Will 5 star review | Travel All Russia

Volga Dream is the best choice for River Cruises in Russia

Matt Will from United States traveled to Moscow, Saint Petersburg in 2014
5

Having been on other first class cruises (river and otherwise), Volga Dream sets the standard in terms of service, luxury, accommodations, and excursions for a river cruise. Volga Dream advertises as the only 5 star river cruise in Russia. Based on my experience and speaking to guests on other cruise ships, their claim seems 100% true. My research before, during and after told me, Volga Dream is the best and only choice for River Cruises in Russia. This review is glowing and deservedly so.

Staff and Service

The Cruise Director is easily the single best employee I have seen in her type of position in all my years of travel. She was professional, approachable, organized, a dedicated leader among the crew and seemed to never sleep. She attended and managed every event. We joked that she must have two cabins, one just for her clothes. She had a themed outfit for every event. She was always smiling and managed each event with the precision of a Prussian General, but the grace of a Bolshoi performer.

The front desk manager, responded to every request, INSTANTLY. Wake up calls, room service, laundry, general questions, or simply engaging in informal small talk, this young lady was exactly the person you wanted to talk to when an answer was needed. Priceless is the only word I can use to describe her.

Our room (411) was the aft most cabin and nearest the engine area. This generated some ambient heat that was a bit uncomfortable on a warm day. When I asked for assistance the Hotel Manager arrived within minutes, sent an engineer, provided a fan, and followed up the next day with a bigger fan. She did not ignore our concern. Instead, she went “over board” trying to make sure we were taken care of. This level of service was found everywhere on the ship.

Cabins

Other than the warm item mentioned above, the ship exceeded all expectations in terms of amenities. River cruise ships are notoriously small. Not these cabins. Other comments on small space, must be from people unfamiliar with the size of river cruise ship cabins. The Volga Dream website photos are spot on. The bathrooms are large by river cruise standards and the junior suite bathrooms are normal hotel room size… very impressive. We visited other rooms and all were comfortable, large, good AC, and clean. Housekeeping was around frequently and did everything you requested.

Ship Condition

Other than a very small and impractical gym, the ship is flawless. Because of the small gym, we were forced to get our exercise by walking the deck…beautiful. I was glad we were required to get our exercise in a gorgeous setting. The lounge, deck, restaurant, library and other features all exceeded expectations. Built in 1959 and remodeled in 2007, the ship exudes elegance, high class and modern safety. The bridge had all the latest navigation and safety features. Given the horror stories of Russian River cruises, we selected Volga Dream, in part, because they had a complete remodel and every GPS and navigation system imaginable. The crew kept everything in mint condition. We visited the bridge, engine room and were impressed with everything.

Food

Gourmet food was served at every ship meal. The length of the dinners were a bit long for my tastes, but most people liked the time to socialize. We had dinner with the historian for the cruise on the last night and had a great time. It could have lasted even longer (haha at my own hypocrisy). Other than ice cream the chef made EVERYTHING on board. WOW is the nest word I can fixed to describe the food. Every time it was announced “Bon A petit” on the speaker I felt like Pavlov’s dog, eager to go to the restaurant. Daimen, the maître de, made every meal wonderful with exquisite service. We even had a deckside BBQ rib lunch one day. This was great food and a nice change from the formal meals.

On Board Activity

My biggest fear was the long travel time between ports. My prior river cruise experiences were not good, and they claimed to be first class cruises. Volga Dream and the Cruise Director were absolutely above First Class and amazing at making the on board experiences valuable. The activities were high quality, well managed, properly timed and definitely worth the time. Usually, I prefer not to participate in on board activities, but on Volga Dream I was eager to see the next great activity prepared for us.

Port Excursions

There was nothing special about these stops. They are the normal Moscow-SPB river stops, but I liked them. In speaking with others, it was obvious Volga Dream hired the best tour guides. We had much smaller groups (15 max) than the other ships and the guides were often teachers or professors. Only one negative. On one stop a guide took us to her friend’s store for shopping and we had an important venue cut short. The rest of her tour was very good. I told the Cruise Director about that upon our return and she was eager to get details and was obviously interested in following up and address the problem. As usual she was focused on our experience and eager to make everything perfect.

Disembarkation

Cruisers know the horror stories of disembarking. Not Volga Dream. Again, I stood on the deck and watched the process be executed to perfection. Bags were collected, transportation arrived, groups called by number, bags identified, people loaded and off we went. Despite her hard work, the Cruise Director walked onto every bus, smiled and wished the guests safe travels. Perfect to the end.

Tour Extensions

We spent extra days in Moscow and St. Petersburg. I will review the hotels and other venues separately. The Platinum arrangements (Ararat and Grand Europe) were wonderful. The excursions and tours guides were first class. Special admission to the Diamond Fund and early admit to the Winter Palace helped avoid crowds. The hydrofoil from Peterhof allowed extra time touring Peterhof. I usually hate tour group guides, but Volga Dream hired the best and I had a great time. The excursion meals were mixed bag. They were a fixed menu, without consideration of preference. I liked most of the excursion meals, but they were not as good as the ship meals. They should offer some choices for excursion food. The only bad stop was Turandot in Moscow. We are in a side room and never got to see the beauty of the main restaurant we were all hoping to see and experience. In contrast, in SPB we had lunch in the roof top restaurant of the Taleon Imperial Hotel, Victoria, which was outstanding.

Volga Dream – Spasibo!

Published,
July 21, 2014
Read more Collapse

Russia

5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
12 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowMurmanskSaint Petersburg

This tour gives you the unique opportunity to see the scenic Russian winter covering the renowned capitals, Moscow and Saint Petersburg. In between these two cities, you are offered to see unbelievable Murmansk and its scenic surroundings.

From
$3,878

Two Capitals

5
4.95
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 24, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Unmatched in convenience and price, this 4+ star program takes you through main highlights of Russian capitals in our signature style: best guides, downtown hotels & seamless logistics

From
$1,998
5
4.50
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 24, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Get amazed by the main gems of Russian capitals in our tailor-made program, combining best guides, great accommodation, and exceptional logistics all with the best value for money.

From
$2,398
5
4.96
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 24, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Enjoy the best of the glorious Russian capitals with professional local guides. See the royal palaces of Peterhof and Catherine's Palace in Pushkin and visit the Faberge Museum.

From
$3,236
5
5.00
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 24, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Treat yourself to an outstanding experience of Moscow & St. Petersburg with our 5-star small group tour in Russia. An enhanced itinerary of our signature tour with luxury central hotels & extra tours

From
$2,636
5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Have only one week to explore Russia? This Moscow and St. Petersburg itinerary makes it possible to see the highlights of two most often visited cities in the world's largest country with guided tours, best hotels, and included visas.

From
$2,349
5
5.00
399 Reviews
Private tour
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Travel to Moscow and St. Petersburg with our hallmark private tour to Russia, stay at best hand-picked 4 and 5 star hotels and enjoy a fully-customizable itinerary with tours with local guides, included Russian visas, and airport transfers.

From
$2,950
5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
12 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint PetersburgSortavalaPetrozavodskMurmansk

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Discover the majestic Russian winter as you explore its two brilliant capitals, the inspiring Karelia region and make your way north to witness the dazzling Northern Lights.

From
$4,168
5
4.98
399 Reviews
Private tour
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Our private tour of Russia's Moscow & St. Petersburg covers all major highlights in a completely carefree fashion. As always offering top-notch quality and service throughout.

From
$3,900
5
5.00
399 Reviews
Private tour
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Be treated like royalty discovering Moscow and St. Petersburg with the best 5-star hotels, thoroughly designed tours, Russian visas, 1st class train tickets and transfers included in our 5+ star luxury tour

From
$6,998
5
4.76
399 Reviews
Private tour
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg
COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Experience Russia during winter. Resting under the white blanket of snow, Moscow & St. Petersburg expose guests to exciting winter activities.
From
$2,385
5
4.88
399 Reviews
Private tour
13 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowIrkutskListvyanka VillageSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Explore the most incredible places in Russia and discover the best of Moscow, Irkutsk, St. Petersburg and the gorgeous Pearl of Siberia - Lake Baikal.

From
$4,498
5
4.93
399 Reviews
Private tour
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Cross Russia off your bucket list with the ultimate private itinerary, built around your preferences. Enjoy all the unmissable sights with local pros, stay at best 5-star central hotels, private transfers, free visas, and plenty of free time to explore on your own.

From
$3,418
5
4.82
400 Reviews
Private tour
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowKazanSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Experience the best of Russia's three capitals: the gorgeous Kremlins of Moscow and Kazan and exquisite palaces of St. Petersburg during the 13-day private tour.

From
$3,768
5
4.96
399 Reviews
Private tour
16 days8 cities
DenmarkNorwayFinlandRussia4 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiSaint PetersburgMoscow

RUSSIAN VISAS Treat yourself to the award-winning program that includes the highlights of Scandinavian cities and fjords combined with Russia's two stunning capitals.

From
$7,291
5
4.87
401 Reviews
Private tour
9 days4 cities
Russia1 country
Saint PetersburgTobolskEkaterinburgMoscow

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Traverse the main sights connected with the Russian October Revolution of 1917, see Lenin's secret apartment and hideaways, the Smolny Bolshevik headquarters and places holding the secrets of the exile of the Russian royal family

From
$3,345
5
4.92
399 Reviews
Private tour
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Follow the traces of the Russian Revolution while exploring Moscow and St. Petersburg sights in 9 days. Find out many secrets of the revolution leader, Lenin, and get an insight of the life of the Russian royal Romanov family.

From
$2,917
5
4.88
399 Reviews
Private tour
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Step back in time to learn about Lenin and the Russian Imperial Romanovs family with our thematic Revolution Tour, in one week explore major revolutionary attractions in Moscow & St. Petersburg.

From
$2,517

Moscow

5
4.84
365 Reviews
Private tour
6 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS A fully-fledged 6-day private vacation with a maximum zoom on Moscow. Travel and explore the heritage of Moscow with our custom tour package

From
$1,697
5
4.83
365 Reviews
Private tour
3 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

Attention, Moscow is calling! Spend a couple of nights in the unforgettable capital of Russia.
Note: the tour dates are flexible and valid from May to September, limited availability. 

From
$699
5
4.65
365 Reviews
Private tour
2 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

If you only have two days - spend them exploring the astonishing capital of Moscow!
Note: the tour dates are flexible and valid from May to September, limited availability. 

From
$599

St. Petersburg

5
4.89
330 Reviews
Private tour
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg
COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Meet Saint Petersburg, Russia's most beautiful city. Our private St. Petersburg tour shows you the very best of what the city has to offer, from canals to remarkable palaces and imperial estates
From
$1,776
5
5.00
330 Reviews
Private tour
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Our 5-star private tour to St. Petersburg is a dream come true: the best accommodation at centrally located landmark hotels, private drivers, and tours around the main highlights with hand-picked professional local guides.

From
$2,098
5
4.82
330 Reviews
Private tour
2 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Coming to St. Petersburg with a cruise? Shore excursion is a great way to explore St. Petersburg heritage without ever needing a Russian visa.

From
$948

Volga River

5
4.99
399 Reviews
Premium river cruises
Nearest Date: Jun 20, 2019
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Set sail on the Volga Dream Gold cruise and see the best of genuine Russia and its two capitals on a 5-star ship. From Moscow's Kremlin and Red Square to unique petite Volga towns.

From
$4,495
5
4.99
399 Reviews
Premium river cruises
Nearest Date: Jun 20, 2019
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Get inspired by the beauty of authentic Russian Volga River towns with the Platinum Volga Dream program.

From
$5,595
5
4.81
365 Reviews
Premium river cruises
Nearest Date: Sep 26, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichVolgograd

Set sail on Lower Volga on board the Volga Dream cruise ship. In 11 days make your way from the capital Moscow to Volgograd.

From
$3,745
5
4.79
399 Reviews
Budget river cruises
Nearest Date: May 21, 2019
12 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Immerse yourself in the beauty of Volga nature, authentic Russian towns, as well as the two mighty capitals.

From
$3,196

Trans-Siberian

5
4.95
367 Reviews
Small group rail tour
Nearest Date: May 24, 2019
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Ideal program for travelers who want to explore authentic Trans-Siberian. Travel in comfort on board your private train car, with professional dedicated tour director and expert service.

From
$6,298
5
4.97
367 Reviews
Small group rail tour
Nearest Date: May 22, 2019
16 days7 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Set off on a 16-day journey to remember on a private train car and cross the vast expanses of Russia from Moscow to Vladivostok. Explore Trans-Siberian gems and take in the beauty of authentic Russia.

From
$5,929
5
4.96
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
17 days6 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Start your adventure in Moscow, visit the city of Kazan and Ekaterinburg, set right on the border of Europe and Asia while passing through the mighty Ural Mountains. Then absorb the beauty of Lake Baikal and The Great Steppe, before reaching Ulan Bator.

From
$5,096
4
4.00
401 Reviews
Private rail tour
23 days8 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
Saint PetersburgMoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan BatorBeijing

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS An extended journey from Russia to China starting in one of the most beautiful places on Earth - the Venice of the North, St. Petersburg.

From
$7,368
5
4.90
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Jun 01, 2019
16 days6 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
MoscowKazanIrkutskUlan-UdeUlan BatorBeijing

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS First private train to operate on Trans-Siberian route. Tsar's Gold provides all inclusive itinerary and top-notch quality.

From
$9,330
5
4.87
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Set off on a saturated two-week ride along the world's longest railway. Start your journey in the heart of Russia, unsurpassed Moscow, travel via Ekaterinburg, pass dense Siberian forests and gorgeous Lake Baikal, ending your trip in East Asia with a spicy Mongolian exploration.

From
$4,196
5
4.83
365 Reviews
Private rail tour
10 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutsk

Dream of going on a private Trans-Siberian adventure but are short on time? Enjoy the highlights of the famous railway on authentic Russian trains, see top sights of Moscow and Siberia with best guides. Russian visas and central hotels included.

From
$2,441
5
4.82
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
20 days10 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowNizhny NovgorodPermEkaterinburgNovosibirskKrasnoyarskListvyanka VillageUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Explore Russia's vastness with the Epic Trans-Siberian Expedition - if you want to see all of Russia this program is built for you.

From
$5,348
5
4.85
365 Reviews
Private rail tour
15 days4 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

A classic three-country Trans-Siberian with combination of trains and downtown hotels, carefully planned sightseeing and flexible program.

From
$4,231
5
4.88
399 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Feb 01, 2020
12 days4 cities
RussiaNorway2 countries
Saint PetersburgKirkenesMurmanskMoscow

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Immerse yourself in a winter fairytale as you set off on a journey on board the luxurious Golden Eagle train to explore the Arctic and Northern Lights.

From
$12,995
5
5.00
367 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Jun 02, 2019
15 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowKazanVladivostok

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Embark on the ultimate Trans-Siberian journey surrounded by 5-star luxury and quality of the premium train, the Golden Eagle.

From
$16,695
5
4.79
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Jun 23, 2019
15 days3 cities
RussiaChina2 countries
MoscowKazanBeijing

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS A classic Trans-Siberian route through Russia, Mongolia & China aboard the Russian Railways private train - Imperial Russia.

From
$7,098
5
4.75
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Jul 01, 2019
13 days3 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowKazanUlan Bator
COMPLIMENTARY VISAS From Moscow to Ulan Bator on board Luxury Golden Eagle Train to celebrate the biggest national holiday in Mongolia, the Naadam Festival.
From
$16,695

Silk Road

5
4.88
369 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Apr 13, 2020
21 days6 cities
ChinaKazakhstanRussia3 countries
BeijingXianDunhuangTurpanAlmatyMoscow

21-day luxury rail tour from Beijing to Moscow through the mysterious and magical countries of the Central Asia - this is a thrill of a lifetime.

From
$26,295
5
4.82
369 Reviews
Tourist trains
Nearest Date: Apr 21, 2020
13 days3 cities
KazakhstanUzbekistanRussia3 countries
AlmatyTashkentMoscow

Set off on your personal pilgrimage down the ancient legendary trade route - the Silk Road from Almaty to Moscow on the luxurious Golden Eagle train.

From
$18,195

Two Capitals, Golden Ring

5
4.89
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 22, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

INCLUDED VISAS Treat yourself to an all-embracing experience of Russia's two capitals and the ancient Golden Ring treasures. Guided tours with local pros, airport transfers, and central hotels are part of the package.

From
$3,018
5
4.93
399 Reviews
Small group tour
Nearest Date: May 22, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Combine your premium experience of Moscow & St. Petersburg with a visit to the heart of ancient Russia, the Golden Ring. Guaranteed departures and groups of 14 max.

From
$3,936
5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Get a touch of multisided Russia from its ancient Golden Ring towns to the Imperial wonders of St. Petersburg, and, of course, the bustling capital, Moscow. This 4+ star itinerary offers Russian visas, central hotels, and impeccable sightseeing tours.

From
$3,600
5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Get the ultimate 5-star Russia experience as you explore both of the capitals and the UNESCO heritage of the Golden Ring Towns. Stays at 5-star central properties, executive class airport transfers, Russian visa processing, and all the must-sees in one fully customizable program.

From
$4,600
5
4.80
400 Reviews
Private tour
13 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalYaroslavlKazanSaint Petersburg

COMPLIMENTARY VISAS Set off on an outstanding 13-day tour dedicated to Russia's top UNESCO World Heritage Sites from Moscow to Kazan to Saint Petersburg.

From
$4,200
5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
16 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint PetersburgPetrozavodsk

Craving for an in-depth exploration of Russia? This private Russian itinerary is what you've been looking for: included Russian visas, best hotels, top guided tours of the Golden Ring, Karelia region, Moscow and St. Petersburg.

From
$5,312