Rob Anderson 5 star review | Travel All Russia

Winter Treasures of Two Capitals with Helsinki Extension

Rob Anderson from United States traveled to Russia, Finland in 2016
5

Well, this truly was the trip of a lifetime.  We have traveled a lot but both agree this is the best one yet.  At every turn, your people were standing there with signs to greet us.  We had absolutely no problems with anything on the entire trip.  

The first morning when we walked to the Monastery to hear the Male Choir was a great experience.  It couldn't have been better.   David decided he wanted to get a better view and insisted that we climb the spiral staircase, only to find out that is where the Choir sits.  They were kind but motioned for us to return to the mainfloor.  The service was beautiful and was a true Russian experience.  The fact that you were able to get us to tickets to the Bolshoi Theater to see the Nutcracker on our first night was unbelievable.  The seats were on the main floor, 5 rows back center could not have been better.  

The guides were remarkable.  The one in Moscow couldn't have been more knowledgeable.  We were stunned at the amount of information he was able to share with us.  We were given such a comprehensive view of Russian history that it made it come alive for us. While in Red Square, he saw one of his friends who is a Bass in a singing group called Doros.  He said we will see and hear him later.  In St Basil's Cathedral in Red Square, he took us to meet his friends in one of the chapels who did indeed sing for us.  It was a truly moving experience.  

The amazing Kremlin Armory was so worth doing. I expected it to be all about weapons and armor, but that is just a small piece of  it.   It was not at all what we expected.  The finery, Royal Coaches, gifts from foreign countries and Crown Jewels were jaw dropping.   As we were leaving Moscow, we were stuck in a traffic jam and our driver was impressive.  So good at what he does. We were late because of the traffic so our guide grabbed two of our bags, helped us jump the lines at security and raced with us onto our coach, got us on board, said goodbye, hugged us and ran for the door as the train was starting to move.  He went over and above what was expected of him. We can't wait to hear what he will name his new baby which will arrive sometime very soon.

In St. Petersburg, again the driver met us with a smile.  Our guide there also is so good at what he does.  I can understand why the company employees these guys.  They are totally professional.   At the Hermitage, he guided us through the maze of palaces and showed us the highlights, while keeping us safe from the pick pocket teams that were waiting to pray on the tourists.  We sort of feared for him as he had been threatened by them if he  pointed them out to his clients.  He  took us to some wonderful places to purchase Russian treasures which were of outstanding quality, much different that we had seen in other stores and shops.  The Vodka tasting was a unique experience.  We both loved it, although David struggled with shooting the shots instead of sipping.  

We were able to take over 1000 photos many of which we shared on Facebook.  The comments from people were mostly... "Thank your for letting us see your photos and share in your adventure."   Many were stunned to see the beauty of Russia. It is so different from what our perceptions were before we left.  We were glad we were able to share it with others.  

In Helsinki, we were again met by our smiling driver.  What a kind gentle man.  Our guide was so accommodating and a breath of fresh air.  The first thing he said was "Do you want a Sauna?"  I wanted to try it, but David was a bit hesitant.  When we went to the place they had planned, it was packed with people who were enjoying the time off for the holidays.  We opted to try that on another trip.  We were taken to the most beautiful sights.  We also did our share of shopping.  The hotels that were booked for us were spectacular and the staff helpful and very friendly and most had excellent English.

I want to say how impressed we were with how smooth the process of getting the Visa's was.  You made it almost effortless on our part.  Your company is to be commended for such an outstanding job.  Especially helpful with our questions and fears and quick to answer any of our concerns.  We couldn't be happier that we found the company to help us discover the magic of Russia.  We definitely want to return when we can spend more time in your beautiful country.   Thank you again for everything.  Rob Anderson  

Published,
January 26, 2016
Read more Collapse

Russia

5
4.88
399 Reviews
Private tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
13 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowIrkutskListvyanka VillageSaint Petersburg

Explore the most incredible places in Russia and discover the best of Moscow, Irkutsk, St. Petersburg and the gorgeous Pearl of Siberia - Lake Baikal.

5
4.82
400 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowKazanSaint Petersburg

Experience the best of Russia's three capitals: the gorgeous Kremlins of Moscow and Kazan and exquisite palaces of St. Petersburg during the 13-day private tour.

Two Capitals

5
4.95
399 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 20, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Unmatched in convenience and price, this 4+ star program takes you through main highlights of Russian capitals in our signature style: best guides, downtown hotels & seamless logistics.

5
4.50
399 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 20, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Get amazed by the main gems of Russian capitals in our tailor-made program, combining best guides, great accommodation, and exceptional logistics all with the best value for money.

5
4.96
399 Reviews
Small group tour
5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 27, 2019
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Enjoy the best of the glorious Russian capitals with professional local guides. See the royal palaces of Peterhof and Catherine's Palace in Pushkin and visit the Faberge Museum.

5
5.00
399 Reviews
Small group tour
5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 20, 2019
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Treat yourself to an outstanding experience of Moscow & St. Petersburg with our 5-star small group tour in Russia. An enhanced itinerary of our signature tour with luxury central hotels & extra tours.

5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Have only one week to explore Russia? This Moscow and St. Petersburg itinerary makes it possible to see the highlights of two most often visited cities in the world's largest country with guided tours, best hotels, and included visas.

5
5.00
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Travel to Moscow and St. Petersburg with our hallmark private tour to Russia, stay at best hand-picked 4 and 5 star hotels and enjoy a fully-customizable itinerary with tours with local guides, included Russian visas, and airport transfers.

5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
12 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint PetersburgSortavalaPetrozavodskMurmansk

Discover the majestic Russian winter as you explore its two brilliant capitals, the inspiring Karelia region and make your way north to witness the dazzling Northern Lights.

5
4.98
399 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotels
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Our private tour of Russia's Moscow & St. Petersburg covers all major highlights in a completely carefree fashion. As always offering top-notch quality and service throughout.

5
5.00
399 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotels
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Be treated like royalty discovering Moscow and St. Petersburg with the best 5-star hotels, thoroughly designed tours, Russian visas, 1st class train tickets and transfers included in our 5+ star luxury tour

5
4.76
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg
Experience Russia during winter. Resting under the white blanket of snow, Moscow & St. Petersburg expose guests to exciting winter activities.
5
4.87
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
12 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowMurmanskSaint Petersburg

This tour gives you the unique opportunity to see the scenic Russian winter covering the renowned capitals, Moscow and Saint Petersburg. In between these two cities, you are offered to see unbelievable Murmansk and its scenic surroundings.

5
4.93
399 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotels
11 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Cross Russia off your bucket list with the ultimate private itinerary, built around your preferences. Enjoy all the unmissable sights with local pros, stay at best 5-star central hotels, private transfers, free visas, and plenty of free time to explore on your own.

5
4.96
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
16 days8 cities
DenmarkNorwaySwedenFinlandRussia5 countries
CopenhagenOsloFlamBergenStockholmHelsinkiSaint PetersburgMoscow

Treat yourself to the award-winning program that includes the highlights of Scandinavian cities and fjords combined with Russia's two stunning capitals.

5
4.87
401 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
9 days4 cities
Russia1 country
Saint PetersburgTobolskEkaterinburgMoscow

Traverse the main sights connected with the Russian October Revolution of 1917, see Lenin's secret apartment and hideaways, the Smolny Bolshevik headquarters and places holding the secrets of the exile of the Russian royal family

5
4.92
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
9 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Follow the traces of the Russian Revolution while exploring Moscow and St. Petersburg sights in 9 days. Find out many secrets of the revolution leader, Lenin, and get an insight of the life of the Russian royal Romanov family.

5
4.88
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
7 days2 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSaint Petersburg

Step back in time to learn about Lenin and the Russian Imperial Romanovs family with our thematic Revolution Tour, in one week explore major revolutionary attractions in Moscow & St. Petersburg.

Moscow

5
4.84
365 Reviews
Private tour
4-starhotel
6 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

A fully-fledged 6-day private vacation with a maximum zoom on Moscow. Travel and explore the heritage of Moscow with our custom tour package

5
4.83
365 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotel
3 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

Attention, Moscow is calling! Spend a couple of nights in the unforgettable capital of Russia.
Note: the tour dates are flexible and valid from May to September, limited availability. 

5
4.65
365 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotel
2 days1 city
Russia1 country
Moscow

If you only have two days - spend them exploring the astonishing capital of Moscow!
Note: the tour dates are flexible and valid from May to September, limited availability. 

St. Petersburg Vacation Packages

5
5.00
330 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotel
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Our 5-star private tour to St. Petersburg is a dream come true: the best accommodation at centrally located landmark hotels, private drivers, and tours around the main highlights with hand-picked professional local guides.

5
4.89
330 Reviews
Private tour
5-starhotel
7 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg
Meet Saint Petersburg, Russia's most beautiful city. Our private St. Petersburg tour shows you the very best of what the city has to offer, from canals to remarkable palaces and imperial estates
5
4.82
330 Reviews
Private tour
5-starship
2 days1 city
Russia1 country
Saint Petersburg

Coming to St. Petersburg with a cruise? Shore excursion is a great way to explore St. Petersburg heritage without ever needing a Russian visa.

Volga River

5
4.99
399 Reviews
Premium river cruises
5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Jun 04, 2020
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Set sail on the Volga Dream Gold cruise and see the best of genuine Russia and its two capitals on a 5-star ship. From Moscow's Kremlin and Red Square to unique petite Volga towns.

5
4.99
399 Reviews
Premium river cruises
5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Jun 04, 2020
13 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Get inspired by the beauty of authentic Russian Volga River towns with the Platinum Volga Dream program.

5
4.81
365 Reviews
Premium river cruises
5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Sep 26, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichVolgograd

Set sail on Lower Volga on board the Volga Dream cruise ship. In 11 days make your way from the capital Moscow to Volgograd.

5
4.79
399 Reviews
Budget river cruises
4-starship
Nearest Date: May 05, 2020
12 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowUglichSaint Petersburg

Immerse yourself in the beauty of Volga nature, authentic Russian towns, as well as the two mighty capitals.

Trans-Siberian

5
4.95
367 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Ideal program for travelers who want to explore authentic Trans-Siberian. Travel in comfort onboard your private train car, with a professional dedicated tour director and expert service.

5
4.97
367 Reviews
Small group rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: May 17, 2020
16 days7 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

Set off on a 16-day journey to remember on a private train car and cross the vast expanses of Russia from Moscow to Vladivostok. Explore Trans-Siberian gems and take in the beauty of authentic Russia.

4
4.00
401 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
23 days8 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
Saint PetersburgMoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan BatorBeijing

An extended journey from Russia to China starting in one of the most beautiful places on Earth - the Venice of the North, St. Petersburg.

5
4.96
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
17 days6 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowKazanEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Start your adventure in Moscow, visit the city of Kazan and Ekaterinburg, set right on the border of Europe and Asia while passing through the mighty Ural Mountains. Then absorb the beauty of Lake Baikal and The Great Steppe, before reaching Ulan Bator.

5
4.90
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: May 09, 2020
16 days6 cities
RussiaMongoliaChina3 countries
MoscowKazanIrkutskUlan-UdeUlan BatorBeijing

First private train to operate on Trans-Siberian route. Tsar's Gold provides all inclusive itinerary and top-notch quality.

5
4.87
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
14 days5 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowEkaterinburgListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

Set off on a saturated two-week ride along the world's longest railway. Start your journey in the heart of Russia, unsurpassed Moscow, travel via Ekaterinburg, pass dense Siberian forests and gorgeous Lake Baikal, ending your trip in East Asia with a spicy Mongolian exploration.

5
4.68
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
14 days5 cities
MongoliaRussia2 countries
Ulan BatorListvyanka VillageIrkutskEkaterinburgMoscow

Take in the adventure spirit of traveling along the world's longest railway! Start your journey from discovering the unique vibe of Mongolia, then continue to Irkutsk and the true gem of Siberia, gorgeous Lake Baikal. Passing Ekaterinburg, travel through the European part of Russia with a grand finale in unsurpassed Moscow.

5
4.83
365 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4-starhotels
10 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutsk

Dream of going on a private Trans-Siberian adventure but are short on time? Enjoy the highlights of the famous railway on authentic Russian trains, see top sights of Moscow and Siberia with best guides. Russian visas and central hotels included.

5
4.82
367 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
20 days11 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowNizhny NovgorodPermEkaterinburgNovosibirskKrasnoyarskListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan-UdeKhabarovskVladivostok

Explore Russia's vastness with the Epic Trans-Siberian Expedition - if you want to see all of Russia this program is built for you.

5
4.85
365 Reviews
Private rail tour
3, 4, 5-starhotels
15 days4 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowListvyanka VillageIrkutskUlan Bator

A classic three-country Trans-Siberian with combination of trains and downtown hotels, carefully planned sightseeing and flexible program.

5
4.88
399 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Feb 01, 2020
12 days4 cities
RussiaNorway2 countries
Saint PetersburgKirkenesMurmanskMoscow

Immerse yourself in a winter fairytale as you set off on a journey on board the luxurious Golden Eagle train to explore the Arctic and Northern Lights.

5
5.00
367 Reviews
Tourist trains
5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: May 03, 2020
15 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowKazanVladivostok

Embark on the ultimate Trans-Siberian journey surrounded by 5-star luxury and quality of the premium train, the Golden Eagle.

5
4.79
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Jun 21, 2020
15 days3 cities
RussiaChina2 countries
MoscowKazanBeijing

A classic Trans-Siberian route through Russia, Mongolia & China aboard the Russian Railways private train - Imperial Russia.

5
4.75
366 Reviews
Tourist trains
5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Jul 01, 2020
13 days3 cities
RussiaMongolia2 countries
MoscowKazanUlan Bator
From Moscow to Ulan Bator onboard Luxury Golden Eagle Train to celebrate the biggest national holiday in Mongolia, the Naadam Festival.

Silk Road

5
4.82
369 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Apr 21, 2020
13 days3 cities
KazakhstanUzbekistanRussia3 countries
AlmatyTashkentMoscow

Set off on your personal pilgrimage down the ancient legendary trade route - the Silk Road from Almaty to Moscow on the luxurious Golden Eagle train.

5
4.88
369 Reviews
Tourist trains
4, 5-staraccommodation
Nearest Date: Apr 13, 2020
21 days6 cities
ChinaKazakhstanRussia3 countries
BeijingXianDunhuangTurpanAlmatyMoscow

21-day luxury rail tour from Beijing to Moscow through the mysterious and magical countries of the Central Asia - this is a thrill of a lifetime.

Two Capitals, Golden Ring

5
4.89
399 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 25, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Treat yourself to an all-embracing experience of Russia's two capitals and the ancient Golden Ring treasures. Guided tours with local pros, airport transfers, and central hotels are part of the package.

5
4.93
399 Reviews
Small group tour
4, 5-starhotels
Nearest Date: Sep 25, 2019
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Combine your premium experience of Moscow & St. Petersburg with a visit to the heart of ancient Russia, the Golden Ring. Guaranteed departures and groups of 14 max.

 

5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Get a touch of multisided Russia from its ancient Golden Ring towns to the Imperial wonders of St. Petersburg, and, of course, the bustling capital, Moscow. This 4+ star itinerary offers Russian visas, central hotels, and impeccable sightseeing tours.

5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
11 days3 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint Petersburg

Get the ultimate 5-star Russia experience as you explore both of the capitals and the UNESCO heritage of the Golden Ring Towns. Stays at 5-star central properties, executive class airport transfers, Russian visa processing, and all the must-sees in one fully customizable program.

5
4.80
400 Reviews
Private tour
4-starhotels
13 days5 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalYaroslavlKazanSaint Petersburg

Set off on an outstanding 13-day tour dedicated to Russia's top UNESCO World Heritage Sites from Moscow to Kazan to Saint Petersburg.

5
4.89
399 Reviews
Private tour
4, 5-starhotels
16 days4 cities
Russia1 country
MoscowSuzdalSaint PetersburgPetrozavodsk

Craving for an in-depth exploration of Russia? This private Russian itinerary is what you've been looking for: included Russian visas, best hotels, top guided tours of the Golden Ring, Karelia region, Moscow and St. Petersburg.